PDA

View Full Version : Frame & Body Impact Absorbers...

Lwanmtr
02-26-2016, 04:30 AM
Im curious if anyone has ever made their own impact absorbers to mount on the metal bean, as opposed to paying the $600 each end for them?

Mine are pretty past it, so going to need new ones and the thought popped in my head..hehe.

81dmc
02-27-2016, 09:59 PM
You really do not need to replace impact absorbers, and if the outer coating looks like crap, you can always recoat them.

Lwanmtr
02-27-2016, 10:03 PM
the front crumbled....the rear is split right in the middle..a bit more than just the coating worn off

81dmc
02-27-2016, 10:06 PM
the front crumbled....the rear is split right in the middle..a bit more than just the coating worn off

Damn. For the front , I'm afraid you'll have to buy either a new or used one, however, for the rear, I would just use some epoxy then recoat it.

Lwanmtr
02-27-2016, 10:20 PM
What kind of epoxy? Im really new to all this restoration stuff

81dmc
02-27-2016, 10:24 PM
To be honest, I really don't know what would be best...

That being said, I usually just use JB Weld for all my low-cost redneck repairs...

Patrick C
02-27-2016, 10:25 PM

How about some photos?

To re-coat them, use Plastidip.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Plasti-Dip-11-oz-Black-Rubber-Coating-Spray-11203-6/100131010

Lwanmtr
02-28-2016, 01:22 AM
Here's a pic. You can see the split right down the center. The left corner is kinda bent, but ok.

81dmc
02-28-2016, 07:10 AM
Here's a pic. You can see the split right down the center. The left corner is kinda bent, but ok.

That one seems in better shape then mine. Just remove, repair, repaint, then reinstall.

Nicholas R
02-28-2016, 08:50 AM
That doesn't look like a cause for replacement to me. I agree; just re-coat.

Lwanmtr
02-28-2016, 04:36 PM
Ok. cool. Is there a decent filler or whatever to use to fill in the split and the other more prominent cracks just put in a lil more stability?

Patrick C
02-28-2016, 04:39 PM