PDA

View Full Version : Help diagnose Craftsman air compressor issue

Stainless
04-19-2016, 11:38 PM
My upright Craftsman air compressor (26 gallons) has worked flawlessly for the 9 or so years I've owned it. I went to fire it up today and it's like it won't kick into high gear. It kind of sputters and sometimes won't move at all and just hum. After a few tries, it fired up, but wouldn't do it again after stopping it and trying to restart. See the video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7MNhnVXEuI&feature=youtu.be

Anyone have any ideas? I haven't taken anything apart yet as I'm not sure what to look for once it's apart.

DMC-81
04-20-2016, 07:42 AM
Hi there,

I have almost exactly the same one. Although I am not an expert, 3 immediate things I would try:

- check that the water has been drained. There should be a drain on the bottom
- check that the air inlet/filter is not plugged up
- after unplugging the unit, take the black cover off the switch box and see if anything is loose.

Good luck.

Bitsyncmaster
04-20-2016, 08:02 AM
Most compressors have a way to release the pressure in the "head" of the compressor so it can start the motor before it gets loaded. Not sure how that works but I hear a little hiss when my compressor shuts off. You could verify yours starts by releasing all the tank pressure.

davidc89
04-20-2016, 10:12 AM
Is it low on oil?

content22207_2
04-20-2016, 11:18 AM
Take the drain plug out of the tank and see if the compressor will run. If it does, the electric motor likely is weak and needs to be rebuilt or replaced.

Bill Robertson

Stainless
04-20-2016, 11:34 AM
You guys are great. Thanks for all the suggestions. I'll see what I can find out by taking the steps outlined.

BTW, it is an oil free compressor, so it's not related to oil being low.

Citizen
04-20-2016, 09:20 PM