PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Auto No first!

LEVY
10-24-2011, 09:17 PM

Need help, my auto is not working as it should, it starts in second gear. Any ideas where to start?

I keep reading about the LED's rigging but have not seen it, where can I found that info so I can start checking relays?

Thank you!

Levy

Nicholas R
10-24-2011, 09:20 PM
Sounds like pretty textbook transmission computer/governor problems. I'm no expert; I'm sure others can elaborate.

Farrar
10-24-2011, 09:24 PM
So it starts in second and then shifts to third? Am I understanding the problem correctly?

Farrar

Ron
10-24-2011, 09:26 PM
Check:
-fuse #13
-harness on left and right side of trans for damage, particularly exhaust burns.
-Go here for how to make the test lights (http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?350-Automatic-Transmission-Governor&p=26804&viewfull=1#post26804)

GC Details: http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?350-Automatic-Transmission-Governor&p=2632&viewfull=1#post2632

Do yourself a favor and park your D until you find the problem!!!

Delorean Industries
10-24-2011, 09:56 PM
I would inspect the governor harness for a start. Can you manually put the transmission into first gear via the selector?

LEVY
10-24-2011, 10:20 PM

Thanks for your response!

Sounds like pretty textbook transmission computer/governor problems. I'm no expert; I'm sure others can elaborate.

Yes, starts in second then shift to third, then back to second but no first.

So it starts in second and then shifts to third? Am I understanding the problem correctly?

Farrar

Will check all those points tomorrow. Yes, will park until I find and repair the problem.

Check:
-fuse #13
-harness on left and right side of trans for damage, particularly exhaust burns.
-Go here for how to make the test lights (http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?350-Automatic-Transmission-Governor&p=26804&viewfull=1#post26804)

GC Details: http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?350-Automatic-Transmission-Governor&p=2632&viewfull=1#post2632