PDA

View Full Version : Transmission 5-Speed Hard to push into gear

Some guy
04-07-2014, 01:16 PM
So i am stumped on this one.

The car goes into all 5 gears and reverse, but i have to use a good deal of force to do so. It doesn't grind or anything like that. But just pushing it into gear takes a lot more force then it use to. A lot more then it should.

It happens when it is running and also when it is off.

I have a new master and slave cylinder on the car. The transmission oil is only like a year old and i checked the level and it leaked out of the hole, so it is full. I checked the "butter fly bolt" (i think that is what it is called) and it was ok.

It was never this hard to shift gears, now i am worried that i might break the shifting parts.

I dont know if the transmissions is bad or just the oil needs to be changed again.

I did have a problem where it was popping out of 5th gear when i hit a bump on the highway. I have not been able to clean the nose on the transmission to fix that. But i was thinking it was related.

David T
04-07-2014, 01:49 PM
So i am stumped on this one.

The car goes into all 5 gears and reverse, but i have to use a good deal of force to do so. It doesn't grind or anything like that. But just pushing it into gear takes a lot more force then it use to. A lot more then it should.

It happens when it is running and also when it is off.

I have a new master and slave cylinder on the car. The transmission oil is only like a year old and i checked the level and it leaked out of the hole, so it is full. I checked the "butter fly bolt" (i think that is what it is called) and it was ok.

It was never this hard to shift gears, now i am worried that i might break the shifting parts.

I dont know if the transmissions is bad or just the oil needs to be changed again.