PDA

View Full Version : Engine 2 issues I need a bit of help with

mowpow
04-19-2014, 03:46 PM
First issue is an idle issue. I've been crawling through threads but can't seem to get this one nailed down. Basically my car starts cold just fine and sits around 750-800 which is perfect. Once it's warmed up, it goes up to 1400 and stays there. No hunting, surging, etc, just 1400 constant. Today I checked everything I could with the vacuum hoses, idle screws, springs in the throttle body, all look fine. When it's at 1400, I pressed the idle microswitch and it does not change anything. The 1400 is also there if I shut the car off and turn it back on without pressing the gas. One thing about my car that's a bit unique is that I cut the O2 sensor off because my headers don't have provisions for one. Based on reading I think my vacuum stuff is OK because it's not surging or hunting. I am still a bit new to how these cars work but I was reading there is an open and closed loop of sorts. If so, the car seems to be doing the 1400 when it should be in closed loop. If this is correct, how I do I force open loop all the time because that's when it seems it runs the best?

Second issue is that my AC compressor is cycling weird. When I put it on Max, I hear the fans kick on and the compressor clicks. But then the compressor click off about 2 seconds later and so do the fans. This repeats over and over. I read cycling happens more often when Max is set and when the engine speed is higher so I figure I need to get the high idle settled down before tackling this. Definitely would like some input if there is something I can check now. Summer approaches here in TX so it would suck big time to not have the AC :).

Thanks for your help in advance, this board helped me through a coolant, brake, and fuel system swaps which I could never get done with out you guys.

Jake #3154

NightFlyer
04-19-2014, 05:08 PM