FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com

Thread: temperture gauge slowly rising, is engine running hotter??

temperture gauge slowly rising, is engine running hotter??

So I've been using 5873 for a daily driver now for nearly 2 months, and drives just fine, but within the past week or so I've been noticing the temperature gauge is rising up higher than it has ever before, on the hottest days in the past with the AC going on my gauge it would never go past the first quarter mark, but each day I've been driving now it has made its way slowly to the half way point on the gauge. I've check fluids and everything looks ok, but its been probably 10,000 miles since last coolant flush which was over a year ago. Any suggestions? And on another note even when the engine is off and cold the lowest the gauge falls is in between the very first mark and the quarter mark. Thanks brandon
    Last edited by DMCBRANDON5873; 08-12-2011 at 12:56 AM.

My VIN:    16409

Your cooling fans are coming on right? They should come on before you reach the 220 degree mark.
    Chris Miles

For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

My VIN:    ex-01678

Do you have an original radiator or a replacement metal one?

Jeff

My VIN:    03572

When you start a cold engine the temp gauge should be below the first mark. If it starts above that you have a bad temp sensor or the gauge circuit is faulty. Since you said it slowly start do this, I would guess it's your temp sensor.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

One of those purists you keep hearing about. sdg3205's Avatar

My VIN:    thirty two 'o five

Club(s):   (PNDC)

Is it possible the thermostat is stuck only partially open?
    Dave

Here, somewhere.

Current custodian of 2109 Ozzie's Avatar

My VIN:    2109

Club(s):   (DCF)

Even though you said you checked:
    Check that the coolant level in the reservoir bottle is above the outlet (bottom hole on bottle).