FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Chassis 3D model in PDF

  1. #11
    Guy with a DeLorean Mark D's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Stevens Point,WI

    Posts:    2,426

    My VIN:    6125

    Quote Originally Posted by Ashyukun View Post
    OK, XI is a lot better, and I can actually use it on my Mac to boot (though going from Catia's navigation to XI's is a bit of a disconnect, but that happens between Catia & Patran as well...). The more I look at the model the more impressed I am- being able to hide the different panels is something I didn't expect Adobe to be able to do.
    I'm running Catia V5 R21 so it's cool to see someone else using Catia. The mouse navigation is unique and definitely takes some getting used to. If you've got a three button CAD mouse it's great.

    I've modeled the front and rear hubs/bearings/studs and brakes rotors for another project I was working on. Nothing really complicated but I'd share the files if anyone wants them. No brake calipers or suspension components unfortunately.

    It would be cool to build a full rolling chassis in 3D. I'm sure it's been done a few times already considering the stainless frames and custom suspension parts that are available. I've seen a few other screen grabs from engine swaps and it looks like there have been a few people who've done the rear engine cradle and the fiberglass pontoon. If I were ever to attempt an engine swap that is probably where I'd start.

  2. #12
    LS Swapper Josh's Avatar
    Join Date:  Mar 2013

    Location:  Illinois

    Posts:    2,412

    My VIN:    11408

    Club(s):   (DMWC) (TXDMC) (DCUK) (DOI)

    Wow, this is a very nice model.
    I have made one myself but it looks like a children's drawing compared to this.

    You must have many many hours of work into this.

    Supercharged 5.3L LS4 + Porsche 6spd
    [email protected]
    deloreanmidwest.com
    lsdelorean.com

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Lexington, KY

    Posts:    218

    My VIN:    16655

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark D View Post
    I'm running Catia V5 R21 so it's cool to see someone else using Catia. The mouse navigation is unique and definitely takes some getting used to. If you've got a three button CAD mouse it's great.

    I've modeled the front and rear hubs/bearings/studs and brakes rotors for another project I was working on. Nothing really complicated but I'd share the files if anyone wants them. No brake calipers or suspension components unfortunately.

    It would be cool to build a full rolling chassis in 3D. I'm sure it's been done a few times already considering the stainless frames and custom suspension parts that are available. I've seen a few other screen grabs from engine swaps and it looks like there have been a few people who've done the rear engine cradle and the fiberglass pontoon. If I were ever to attempt an engine swap that is probably where I'd start.
    My work uses V5 R26 for modeling- I'm an analyst so I don't do nearly as much with it as our designers do (I can't draw stuff up in it from scratch worth half a cent) but am very good at manipulating and interrogating models since I need to get dimensions, section cuts, etc. for analysis reports. I've just got a standard 3-button mouse but it works well enough. One of the older engineers I work with has never bothered learning the mouse (or keyboard) shortcuts so has to click to change between pan/zoom/rotate- unsurprisingly he's always more than happy when I will take over graphics generation for reports we work on.

    I'm going to be stripping my car down to very close to the bare frame if not beyond (epoxy too) due to some bad rust issues on the front end which are likely going to require rebuilding the frame partially- and since I'm going to have it down so far anyway, am planning on doing an engine swap as well- so I'll likely be playing with the frame in the front and the back (especially since DMC is showing the front frame extensions as out of stock, which are a part I would definitely need). If I get really nuts? Looking at the frame with the eye of a stress analyst there looks to be a modest bit of inefficiency in it, at least from a modern standpoint- so redesigning and building an updated, more weight-efficient frame would be an interesting challenge.

  4. #14
    Senior Member mr_maxime's Avatar
    Join Date:  Apr 2015

    Posts:    1,243

    My VIN:    10201

    I reread our company manual and asked for more clarification, but it looks like i might be able to start sharing scans/models i make using company assets. I got my frame stripped down and a 3d scanner. If you send me the .stp Ill be able to compare the scan vs your model.

    ive models for the grille and washer bottle. ive got scans of the Lca and engine cover but no model yet.

  5. #15
    Senior Member Rhye's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2013

    Location:  Poland

    Posts:    112

    My VIN:    3771

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_maxime View Post
    If you send me the .stp Ill be able to compare the scan vs your model.
    I think it would be more practical if you send me a points cloud so I could make corrections to my parametric model relatively quickly - we'd have a 100% valid 3D chassis then.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2022

    Posts:    29

    Comes up blank when I open it.

  7. #17
    Member pk2678's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Mainz, Germany

    Posts:    75

    My VIN:    2678

    When Adobe Reader asks you, if you trust the document, then confirm that you trust the document.
    Then click on the blank page to enable the 3D-content.

    To always enable 3D-content activate Edit -> Preferences -> Multimedia & 3D -> Enable playing of Multimedia and 3D content
    Always a filled fuel tank.

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2022

    Posts:    29

    I don't get that message. Adobe opens the file and it is a blank document.

  9. #19
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    6,065

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by pk2678 View Post
    When Adobe Reader asks you, if you trust the document, then confirm that you trust the document.
    Then click on the blank page to enable the 3D-content.

    To always enable 3D-content activate Edit -> Preferences -> Multimedia & 3D -> Enable playing of Multimedia and 3D content
    Same for Acrobat X pro.

  10. #20
    Member pk2678's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Mainz, Germany

    Posts:    75

    My VIN:    2678

    Here is the description from Adobe, how to open 3D-PDF:

    https://helpx.adobe.com/acrobat/usin...ntent-pdf.html

    And here is a video (no sound. Watch the comments in the video):

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vW7VBUYwJn8
    Always a filled fuel tank.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •