FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Engine vibration and metal noises

My VIN:    2567 (Sold)

Engine vibration and metal noises

I have been driving my D for nearly every day for the last 8 months without any issues. I just came back from a week long trip. I drove my D for a few miles without any issues on Friday. Yesterday evening, I started D and noticed an engine vibration. I figured it would go away once the engine gets warm. It really didn't go away even after engine warmed up. Engine continued to vibrate (cyclical type of vibration). When I accelerate from stop, vibration gets worse. It shudders at it goes from 0 to 15 miles. I also could hear a faint metal rattling noise from engine area. Once I reach the cruising speed, everything seems normal. I am not 100% sure but feels like I have less power now. I get a slightly more vibration when I put the transmission from P to D.

Other facts:
    Idle is at normal, 700RPM and it doesn't fluctuate.
    Air temperature here is at around 60-65F
    Engine temp is within range
    All fluid, including oil, transmission, and coolant are normal
    Oil pressure is normal
    Checked air filter and looks clean
    No hissing sound from engine area.
    Fuel injectors are secured and in place.
    Oil filer cap is secured and in place

This car has
    Automatic transmission
    Dave's RPM relay
    DMC integrated fuel pump with external check valve
    Cold air intake

I would appreciate any advices or recommendations.
    Thank you

http://www.youtube.com/embed/YhRjpBs2TM8

Last edited by Ryan S.; 12-01-2013 at 01:45 PM.

My VIN:    1768

Club(s):   (NCDMC) (DCUK)

Yeesh, that is a new sound. Maybe the flex plate of loose? Id like to come hear It in person. Don't recommend driving It until we fix It.

Also, if I accelerate hard from the cruising speed, I could hear the metal rattling noise from engine.

My VIN:    3937