FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Bob Brandy's fullsize windows

My VIN:    4 Seater DMC24

Club(s):   (DMA)

Bob Brandy's fullsize windows

Hi lads,

I've tried before (I think on the old DMCtalk) to try and get some proper pictures of the custom windows Bob put in his car. This is the best I found so far, but still not great.

Does anyone have details on this conversion? I've heard conflicting stories - some say they are electric and go all the way down, then I heard elsewhere they are manual sliding windows which slide to the rear?

Thanks,
    John

My VIN:    03238 Grey & Black Hybrid - Auto - work in progress Former owner 10902 - Universal 93 Raffle Car

I have no direct knowledge of that conversion, but I don't think you can drop the glass.

While it looks like its possible to get a full sized piece of glass into the lower half of the doors mass, it would first require heroic reworking of the door structure to do it, but thats not the deal killer as I see it.

If you think back to physics class you will recall that the amount of force a lever transfers depends not just on the weight pushing down on it, but how far that weight is from the fulcrum (pivot). If you take that already heavy piece of glass and then move it another 2' or so farther out from the hinges (when the door is open) you probably nearly double its weight, in terms of force on the torsion bar. That is, with the window down the door would feel significantly heavier than if it was up.

If you tried to balance the torsion bar to compensate for the window in its down position, it would break, but even if it didn't - if you opened the door with the window up it would shoot up like a rocket.

Our drop glass is much smaller overall, and constitutes less of a shift in weight.